Christoph Koncz

Pure genius […] Christoph Koncz fascinates us with his incredible presence, sending impulses in all directions, communicating perfectly with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields and combining virtuosity with tremendous expression.

DER BUND (SWITZERLAND)

Highly versatile 32-year-old musician Christoph Koncz enjoys a wide-ranging international career as a conductor, violin soloist, chamber musician and principal violinist of the Vienna Philharmonic.
At the age of just nine, he received worldwide acclaim for starring as child prodigy Kaspar Weiss in the Canadian feature film The Red Violin, which won an Academy Award for Best Original Score.

Christoph Koncz is rapidly establishing himself internationally as a conductor. His conducting debut at the 2013 Salzburg Mozartwoche was followed by concerts at such prestigious venues as the Berlin, Cologne and Munich Philharmonie, Vienna Konzerthaus and KKL Lucerne as well as at the Salzburg Festival. He has enjoyed a close relationship with the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra and the renowned French period instrument ensemble Les Musiciens du Louvre. In 2017, Christoph Koncz made his US conducting debut with the Memphis Symphony and conducted the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich in a masterclass with David Zinman. He made his subscription debut at the Cologne Philharmonie with Concerto Köln in June 2018 and took the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal on tour in March 2019. During the ongoing season he will make his debut with the Philharmonia Orchestra London, conduct the Camerata of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra at the Cartagena Festival and return to the Berlin Philharmonie. Christoph Koncz will start his tenure as Chief Conductor of the Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss am Rhein in 2020.

Born 1987 in Konstanz into an Austrian-Hungarian family of musicians, Christoph Koncz received his first violin lesson at the age of four and entered the Vienna University of Music only two years later, studying with Eugenia Polatschek. He went on to study violin with Josef Hell, Igor Ozim and Boris Kuschnir at the Music Universities of Vienna, Salzburg and Graz as well as conducting with Mark Stringer in Vienna. Master classes with Daniel Barenboim and Daniel Harding further enriched his musical education.

Christoph Koncz made his North American debut as a soloist aged twelve with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra conducted by Charles Dutoit, leading to collaborations with conductors such as Sir Neville Marriner, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Gábor Takács-Nagy and Marc Minkowski. Much in demand as a chamber musician, his musical partners include Leonidas Kavakos, Joshua Bell, Vilde Frang, Renaud Capuçon, Antoine Tamestit, Kim Kashkashian, Gautier Capuçon, Andreas Ottensamer and Rudolf Buchbinder. His concert engagements have taken him to numerous countries across Europe and to the Middle East, Asia and Australia as well as North and South America.

In 2008, at the age of twenty, Christoph Koncz was appointed principal second violin of the Vienna Philharmonic, a position he has held since.
He performs on a violin by Antonio Stradivari (1707, Brüstlein) on generous loan by the National Bank of Austria.

— Concert season 2019/20

Christoph Koncz

Schlicht genial […] Christoph Koncz fasziniert mit einer unglaublichen Präsenz, sendet Impulse in alle Richtungen, kommuniziert perfekt mit der Academy of St Martin in the Fields und verbindet Virtuosität mit enormem Ausdruckspotenzial.

DER BUND, SCHWEIZ

Der vielseitig begabte 33-jährige Österreicher Christoph Koncz tritt weltweit als Dirigent, Violinsolist, Kammermusiker und Stimmführer bei den Wiener Philharmonikern auf.
Weithin bekannt wurde er bereits als Neunjähriger mit seiner Rolle als Wunderkind Kaspar Weiss im kanadischen Kinofilm The Red Violin, dessen Filmmusik mit einem Oscar ausgezeichnet wurde.

Auch als Dirigent hat sich Christoph Koncz bereits international etabliert. Auf sein Dirigierdebüt bei der Mozartwoche Salzburg 2013 folgten Auftritte in den bedeutendsten Konzertsälen des deutschsprachigen Raums (wie den Philharmonien in Berlin, Köln und München, dem Wiener Konzerthaus oder dem KKL Luzern) sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Im Jahr 2017 debütierte Christoph Koncz in den USA am Pult des Memphis Symphony Orchestra, weiters dirigierte er das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich im Rahmen eines Meisterkurses mit David Zinman. 2018 gab er mit Concerto Köln sein Debüt im Abonnement der Kölner Philharmonie, im März 2019 leitete er eine Tournée des Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal. Christoph Koncz gibt in der laufenden Spielzeit sein Debüt als Operndirigent an der Berliner Staatsoper Unter den Linden (Gluck: Orfeo ed Euridice), debütiert beim Orchestre de la Suisse Romande (Tschaikowsky, Brahms) und beim Hong Kong Philharmonic (Schubert, Weber, R. Strauss). Außerdem kehrt er ans Pult des Philharmonia Orchestra London zurück und leitet die Neujahrskonzerte des Royal Northern Sinfonia. Christoph Koncz befindet sich in seiner zweiten Saison als Chefdirigent der Deutschen Kammerakademie Neuss am Rhein und führt das Orchester im März 2021 ins Concertgebouw Amsterdam (Mendelssohn, Beethoven). Zudem wurde er soeben zum Ersten Gastdirigenten des renommierten französischen Originalklangensembles Les Musiciens du Louvre ernannt.

1987 als jüngster Sohn einer Musikerfamilie in Konstanz geboren, erhielt Christoph Koncz im Alter von vier Jahren seinen ersten Violinunterricht. Bereits zwei Jahre später wurde er von Eugenia Polatschek an die Wiener Musikuniversität aufgenommen. In Folge studierte er bei Josef Hell, Igor Ozim und Boris Kuschnir an den Musikuniversitäten von Wien, Salzburg und Graz. Ein Dirigierstudium bei Mark Stringer in Wien sowie Meisterkurse bei Daniel Barenboim und Daniel Harding ergänzten seine künstlerische Ausbildung.

Seit seinem Nordamerika-Debüt als Zwölfjähriger mit dem Montreal Symphony Orchestra unter Charles Dutoit arbeitet Christoph Koncz als Solist mit Dirigenten wie Sir Neville Marriner, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Gábor Takács-Nagy oder Marc Minkowski zusammen. Als gefragter Kammermusiker zählen Leonidas Kavakos, Joshua Bell, Vilde Frang, Renaud Capuçon, Antoine Tamestit, Clemens Hagen, Gautier Capuçon und Rudolf Buchbinder zu seinen musikalischen Partnern. Seine Konzerttätigkeit führt ihn in zahlreiche Länder Europas sowie in den Nahen Osten, nach Asien, Australien, Nord- und Südamerika.

2008 wurde Christoph Koncz im Alter von nur zwanzig Jahren Stimmführer der 2. Violinen bei den Wiener Philharmonikern.
Er spielt auf einer Violine von Antonio Stradivari (1707, Brüstlein), die ihm von der Österreichischen Nationalbank zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

— Saison 2020/21

Generalmanagement:
Ed Milner
HarrisonParrott
+442037259178
Ed.Milner@harrisonparrott.co.uk
https://www.harrisonparrott.com/artists/christoph-koncz

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit:
Maren Borchers
for artists
+493064475240
Maren.Borchers@forartists.de